Simon Karakulidi Takes Gold, Xiaoya Liu and Xuesha Hu Take Silver and Bronze


Gold Medalist Simon Karakulidi


Silver Medalist Xiaoya Liu


Bronze Medalist Xuesha Hu

With the gold medal, Karakulidi won the William Peyton Shehee and Virginia Kilpatrick Shehee cash prize award of $5,000; a website design, as well as orchestral engagements with the Shreveport Symphony and other orchestras throughout the United States. 

The silver medal went to Xiaoya Liu of China with her performance of Prokofiev’s Piano concerto No 3 in C, Op. 26.  She takes home a $3000 cash prize given by John and Alice Frazier in memory of Genevieve and Carlton Frazier.

Another Chinese contestant, Xuesha Hu, who studies at Colburn, won the bronze medal with her performance of Liszt’s Piano Concerto No 1 in E flat, S 124.  Her Magnolia Award -- given by the family of the late Marilyn Johnson King -- includes a $1,500 cash prize.

>>read more

Judges for the competition were Lucille Chung of New York, a concert pianist who has performed with over 60 orchestras worldwide; Alfred Moledous of Dallas, professor of piano at SMU Meadows School of the Arts and former pianist for the Dallas Symphony Orchestra; and Kermit Poling of Shreveport, conductor, composer, violinist and general manager of KDAQ radio station.


The Wideman International Piano Competition is excited to announce an addition to the Gold Medal award. Beginning in the 2019 competition, NovaTekno will offer a full website package on its Concertino Platform, including design, hosting, biography writing assistance, professional email, and digital press kit.

NovaTekno Logo

A professional online presence is a vital part of any music career. This addition will be of great assistance to the winners of the Wideman as they embark on lives as professional musicians. For more, click the logo at right.


2017 - Wang Yinio & Mei Li (Tie)

2016 - Tzu-Yin Huang

2015 - Aristo Sham

2014 - Tomer Gewirtzman

2013 - Yevgeny Yontov

2012 - Asiya Korepanova

2011 - Yue Chu

2010 - Ko-Eun Lee

2009 - Anna Bulkina

2008 - Stanislav Khristenko

2007 - Janice Fehlauer

2006 - Yoonie Han